baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Who is Ollie, anyway?

I wonder what kind of person I'll be when I'm 55 or 65 or 75.

I wonder what life will be like.

Girl-Unit, who is 14 years my senior, may be gone by then. And since we don't want children, I won't have any grandkids hanging around to tell *when i was your age* stories to.

I suppose I will have my brothers and sisters-but I am the youngest of the clan by far-and I can logically deduce that they may be gone by then to.

I worry about this on occasion-usually when I spend a lot of time alone-like today and yesterday, the day before, and the rest of the week.

I usually enjoy being alone. It allows me a certain freedom to indulge in an emotional self-centeredness that replenishes.

But, what happens when the moments alone turn into days, weeks and years?

What happens when you wake up in the morning and realize that all the people you've shared your life with are no longer around?

__________________________________________________________

That said, so far the week has been postcard-perfect.

The highlights thus far:

* Mornings spent in the light of the bedroom with Girl-Unit in my arms-laughing about the odd sounds birds make

* A steamed artichoke in peanut sauce

* A new ten minute instrumental that is kicking my musical buttocks

* Laguna Beach and the view from the Laguna Village restaurant

* The ska and punk drumming neighbor who comes over with little soul-affirming presents and a rhythmic sense of humor

It's a good life, Ollie.

12:21 p.m. - 2001-05-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: