baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

going away to other side

So, I'm going away for the week. To beautiful St.Petersburg, Florida-and, although the official reason for my trip is work, I must admit that one week away from everything sounds divine beyond divine right now.
Anybody here live in St.Petersburg?
What is there to do besides the Dali museum, eh?

----

I'm feeling pretty good right now. There are no immediate worries on the horizon. Health is good, job is good, relationship is good-all is well.
And I suppose I've been relaxing in the midst off all this good fortune-just enjoying it for what it is and trying not to overthink things.
You have no idea how difficult this is for me.

----

I 'm nursing a major crush on the movies Before Sunrise and Before Sunset. The ending scene of the latter is nothing short of breathtaking. I kid you not dear reader of mine, if you're any sort of romantic in the least, these two movies are a reasonably safe bet.

-----

Everyday around lunch time, I go for a walk around the block. The noise of the city amazes me-the sheer volume and enormity of it all is overwhelming-all those individual noises from the cars, buses, leaf blowers, homeless and cell phone conversations come together in this wonderful cacophony (is that even spelled right?) of noise that defies description.
It's simply the city at noon.
And it's teeming-bursting at the seams.

-----

I sometimes go for lunch at this swap- meet-like place in downtown where, for five bucks, you can get what feels like five pounds of meat, rice and vegetables.
I never eat all of it and often offer the leftovers to the same homeless man I see from my office window everyday.
The other day we actually had a conversation and I found him to be more lucid and, for lack of a better term, more normal than I ever imagined (what the hell does that mean- "More normal?")
His name is John-and, if it wasn't for the smell, I would have liked to speak with him for longer. Maybe someday, when I have a cold and can't smell very well, I'll sit down with him and ask him what he thinks of the city at noon.
I doubt he sees the same things I see, and it's always good to get a new perspective.

8:44 p.m. - 2005-10-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: