baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Since you asked

hey M,

I know of the rut you speak. But, I'm afraid I'm not quite up to the task of getting you (or even myself) out of any such situation. The ruts I've been in have been mostly internal-and these are the toughest to escape.
I do remember those questions you asked, and found them difficult, if not impossible to answer. I did make several attempts and found my thoughts clumsy-but , let me try again:
The emotions described in pop songs-those idealized states of happiness or love-do exist but are unsustainable. People are much too complex to maintain such blind giddyness for long. We ask too many questions, are easily distracted by our own self-doubts and thus are simply incapable of maintaining anything even remotely close to what we've been tricked into thinking is true love.
Bummer? Well, yes-but only on the surface. A couple truly in love has spent years working together through their declining passions to become better people together. This struggle is love-not those first few years of truly-inspired happiness together. That's not to say that the truly-inspired moments don't ever return. They can return but, they'll still be temporary. That's why the feelings you (we) get from pop songs are impossible. Pop songs last, what? 3 minutes, 50 seconds long? Life lasts a whole lot longer.

8:56 p.m. - 2005-09-26

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: