baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm Looking Forward To Death Cuz I Have A Lot Of Fricking Questions For The Big Guy

So, anyway, I saw Stryper last weekend.

Oh, you have never heard of Stryper?

Well, imagine that.

In a nutshell, they were long-haired heavy metal guys who wore yellow and black spandex, harmonized like the Everly Brothers, played with lots of distortion on their guitars and threw Bibles out into the audience.

But, this entry isn't really about the band-which, incidentally, played pretty well although their music didn't sound nearly as cool to my ears as it did so many years ago back in junior high.

In a nutshell, this is more about Jesus-actually-my own personal relationship with the J-man himself. (I'm in a nutshell kind of mood right now because, well, it's 6:05 and I have 25 minutes to write this entry).

I was talking to W about a person who recently went through the unbelievably painful tragedy of losing his wife AND child. I wasn't thinking about Jesus actually until W said this:

*God must be working on him. He's an atheist you know.*

I didn't quite know what to say.

I mean, Godworks on you by taking away your wife and child?

I had a little conversation with God that evening.

I asked him if indeed taking away the love ones of all atheists is His way of *working* on them-like a quick little *take this you little atheistic Twerp* from the Big Cheese himself- a little reminder to prove who runs this here universe.

God didn't answer. At least, He didn't provide an answer I could hear with my own little jaded ears.

But, if anything, W's comment was a painful reminder of why I backslid so many years ago-leaving the Bible Thumping and Finger Pointing to others.

I still have faith-lots of it-and I still Believe-but, somehow, I don't think that God (or whoever it is up there running this show) *works* on people by taking away their love ones.

This is not the God I believe in.

And, (to make this nutshell even longer), as much as I enjoy W's company-as much as I admire his talent and his generosity-he slid down a few notches on cool scale when he said what he said.

I can't believe anyone would think God was that vindictive.

6:28 p.m. - 2001-05-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: