baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bloob

Does anyone remember Captain Crunch?

Specifically, the Captain Crunch submarine that came inside *specially marked* boxes?

It worked off of baking powder, and would rise and fall in the ocean of the kitchen sink just like a real submarine.

Bloob...it would rise.

Bloob...it would fall.

And it rocked my little pre-teenage world.

For whatever reason (the rise and fall of my attitude perhaps), I recently had a hankering for this silly little plastic cereal box hunk of preadolescent giddy. I searched the internet, sent e-mails, rummaged through antique stores, yard sales-and, well, failed.

Miserably.

What I did find was a lot of memories-people remembering the submarine and the good vibes we attach to the cereal box goodies of yesteryear--folks recalling how, as wee-ones, they rushed home from the grocery store, emptied the box of its flaky, sugary content, and grabbed the colorful plastic reward at the bottom.

This anticipation, I believe, epitomizes the coolness of childhood-a time when the world could revolve around a cheap, plastic toy hiding inside a box of sugarcoated flakes; a time blessed with an innate ability to find giddy in simple things.

Well, I went back in time (sort of) this weekend.

Girl-Unit came home from the grocery store Friday night with an odd addition to the shopping list: Fruit Loops. Before I could ask her why she purchased a huge box of cereal we've never eaten-I saw the packaging.

There it was.

A plastic submarine.

Hidden inside the cereal box.

Not quite Captain Crunch-but the same general idea.

Plastic.

Baking soda powered.

And, yes, well, I loved it.

The sink was filled with water before she could show me the new alfredo sauce she wanted try that night for dinner, and well, I reverted.

And, yes, the reversion to yester-giddy worked wonders.

Bloob...it rose.

Bloob...it fell.

A rise and fall that lifted my spirits, and reflected my mood.

1:26 p.m. - 2001-06-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: