baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Temporary

Sometimes I'm amazed by how much I enjoy the company of my friend and co-workers.

I'm amazed at how we seem to connect on any variety of subjects-despite the fact that we've only known each other for the past three or so years we've worked together.

Even more amazing is that three years is nothing compared to the time I've known some of my other friends-specifically the ones who have been in my life since puberty.

But-I rarely connect with those I've known for half my life. We've changed-our personalities, our opinions-and even the ties we swore so many years ago we would never cut have become strained-maybe nonexistent.

It seems our careers dictate who are friends will be-that the sheer amounts of time we spend at the office forces our friendship on those we share cubicles, projects and intercompany memos with.

And, it's all temporary.

I know that if our fears come true and we find ourselves looking for jobs elsewhere-that these friends I share good times with now will be replaced by other faces-other inside jokes, other nicknames.

Friendships are temporary. I never quite wanted to admit that before-but I suppose only a select few become permanent lifelong fixtures.

We move on, rather easily it seems.

3:05 p.m. - 2001-05-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: