baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

West Coast Conundrum

The skies were abnormally blue today.

And the sun oddly bright.

At least to me.

But, that's not a complaint.

No. Not at all.

I happen to have a serious affinity for abnormally blue skies and oddly bright stars.

I mean, we're talking major crush here, folks.

Lust, even.

There's nothing like a blue sky to, err, arouse.

Big-ass puffy clouds too.

The kind with the wispy trails that stretch out like the arms of a waify Goddess.

Boy-do those mamas get me in a giddy mood.

But, here be the conundrum (I LOVE that word. It's almost as good as anomaly).

I have this ongoing internal argument about January blue skies.

You see, I'm cold, like, all the time (I think I've rambled about this before).

And, in January-I often wear a long coat.

And a beannie.

And, lately, a very fashionable and mature scarf about yay long (just picture me holding out my arms OK?).

But, here in Southern California, it's also sunny in January.

And you know what that means, don't ya?

What?

You have no idea what that means?

Oh dear God.

Well, it means that I have to wear sunglasses.

Meaning that I often wander around Los Angeleeees (as Shirley Manson would sing it) with a long coat, a beannie, a scarf AND sunglasses.

I look like a freak for Christ's sakes.

A shaved-headed freak who wears winter clothing AND sunglasses while everyone else trots along in short-skirts and thin dress shirts.

But, next week, I won't have to worry about any of that.

Cuz, I'm going to where it's real cold.

Not the wimpy-ass 72 degree chill I feel here in Southern California-but real cold.

Washington DC Cold.

Boy, is this gonna be fun.

I have a theory that I'll freeze and split into a million tiny pieces the moment I skip out of the plane and breathe in that East Coast Chill.

And if that happens, then I'll never get to see the damn Smithsonian.

But, if it doesn't-then I'll finally be in a place where sunglasses and winter clothing make sense, damnit.

That is, if the sun is oddly bright, and the skies are abnormally blue-which I hope is the situation.

Cuz, we all know how I feel about those things now don't we?

9:36 p.m. - 2004-01-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: