baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spread 'Em!

A man of questionable appearance just sat across from me. Even with my ultra-snazzy sound-isolating headphones on, I can still hear the music emanating from his headphones. A majority of his hair was hidden beneath his hat, but it looked to be a mullet. As he stared out the window, his face was glued to a scowl-his mouth downturned at the sides, his eyes either sad or apprehensive. He sat in typical male form, in a pose that a feminist may refer to as his "male spread."
The male spread, it was once described to me, is how a man sits down and sprawls out: his legs spread, his things taking up the remaining room around him and his arms outstretched. In sharp contrast is the stereotypical female - who often sits with legs tucked in, closed and arms pulled to the sides.
At first, I found the term offensive. But, now armed with a full frontal example of the behavior, I can see how some, feminists specifically, could look at the male spread in disgust. It's as if the man is saying here I am, in all my glory-while the woman sits silently and demure-as if she's silently wishing to disappear into the chair and out of view.

P.S.
Well, cliches do come true-as in "you can't judge a book by its cover." The man of questionable appearance turns out to be a pretty nice fellla. He's a fan of macs after all (using my ultra-sexy powerbook as a conversation starter) and seems nice despite his downturned appearance. Or his male spread.

7:36 p.m. - 2005-05-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: