baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Damn, I love Chinese Food

So I'm drooling over orange chicken and breaded shrimp at Panda Express when, for whatever reason, I get the urge to call Girl-Unit.

This happens often. Out of nowhere comes a feeling - a need actually - to hear her voice; to hear her say anything - even if it's just, "I can't talk, foo. I'm busy."

So, I ask the girl behind the counter if there's a phone nearby I could use.

She smiles and hands me her cell phone.

Yowza.

Can you imagine that?

"Do you know how to unlock it?," she asks.

I stare at the tiny purple device and watch the little cartoon animal jumping up and down on the digital display. My ignorance as obvious as my shaved head, she takes the phone, presses some buttons, and hands it back.

A few beeps later, girl-unit was in my ears.

"What up, cute stuff?"

"I can't talk, foo. I'm busy."

"That's cool. I rove ya."

"Rove ya too."

I push what I think is the off-switch and hand the cell phone back.

"Thanks. That was really wonderful of you," I tell the Panda Express Benefactor.

"I should have assumed you were calling your girlfriend," the Benefactor says. "Bummer."

Double Yowza.

Breaded shrimp, soy sauce and an unexpected compliment.

I should eat fast food more often.

10:54 a.m. - 2002-08-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: