baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Long shadows


After debating for weeks if my affinity for movies were worth yet another monthly payment, I took the plunge this afternoon and handed over a credit card number and about 30 minutes of my sunday morning to setting up a netflicks cue. Now, after looking the list over, I wonder what my choices say about me:

Eternal Sunshine of the spotless mind
Garden State
Office Space
Bottle Rocket
Catch Me if you can
The Terminal
House of flying daggers
Hero
Beyond The Sea
Shine
The Station Agent
Dirty Pretty Things
Primer
Ghost In The Shell
Sleeper
Primer

What I do know is that after falling in serious love with Scarlett Johansson in the wonderfully sublime "Lost In Translation," I'm a little bummed that her latest film seems to be nothing more than an updated Logan's Run complete with the obligatory suggestive scene with picture perfect star Ewan MacGregor. I'm sure explosions and lasers and crashes and all the stuff that summer blockbusters require will be there too. See what happens when you fall in love?

------------

This weekend was spent mostly alone. Friday night was a burrito from Chipotles and Saturday day was spent asleep on the sofa wearing nothing but boxers and a layer of sweat courtesy of summertime sunshine. Saturday night was spent at home with The Girl and sunday day was spent converting the spare bedroom into a functioning recording studio--which is not as big of a deal as it sounds since I record digitally. It mostly involved bringing in my gear from the garage and running wires to and from the back of the mac to the back of preamps, tuners, compressors and the like. The room looks like shit now-but I love it. It's cramped with all the tools I need to start being creative again. I seem to have lost the drive to play music -and by setting up the actual gear, I hope to regain it.

The Girl is at her grandmother's and I'm missing her and am thankful for the time alone at the same time. That i don't understand. When she's gone, I miss her. When she's here, I want to be alone. Confusing as fuck is what it is.

And it's not just her. M came by today and I found myself feigning sleepyness just so he would leave and give me back my privacy.

-----------

I did actually record some tracks today-picking the loudest, heaviest, most complicated tune in the bunch to start with. It was the first time I powered up my amp in months. The first time I played something that actually required volume. The first time I've played anything heavy since last time I was on stage-which was quite a while ago at a strip joint. Can you believe it? Girls were scampering up and down poles as we played. It was fucking humiliating. You'd think I would have enjoyed it-but it was embarassing. All those months of practicing and working just to play at a strip joint? What the fuck.

I quit that band immediately after that show. I was done.

----------

A girl asked me if I was around 30 the other day. I'm 37 I said, and she looked surprised. I suppose possibly I'd be datable if I was 30. But, at 37? No fucking way, dude. Funny-you'd think she'd first try to find out if I was fucking single.
Later that night, while buying a very tasty burrito from the local Chipotle's, a waitress came up and asked me why I looked so familiar. I really wanted to say, "cuz my photo is up on the wall at the Post Office"
She was nice. And, I was grateful for her company. Seems to be easier to talk to strangers than with folks I actually know.

-------------
I'm trying not to think about the London bombings. I'm trying not to think about the inevitable day when something else is going to blow up. I'm trying to not be angry.
_______________

Whoa. Long entry. See what happens when I'm alone? Think I'll go fondle my guitars now. Toodles.

6:47 p.m. - 2005-07-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: