baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For All The Right Reasons?

My lover's name is music

she's held my heart so long

tethered and pulling at the chains of disregard

what if all of this is wrong

Far From Over

-Edwin McCain-

So, I spent all weekend (minus a lovely lunch with my parents on Dad Day) locked in a recording studio.

15 hours over two days dedicated to this infatuation of mine.

And I wonder.

Is this all just a waste of time?

Who, outside of Girl-Unit, will care about these notes that I struggle over?

And, of course, I know that it isn't a waste of time. I know that there will be a precious few who will be able to see past the ridiculously small confines of the pop song-who doesn't mind if a song lasts longer than four minutes, or if the musician behind the melody doesn't look like he or she could be a model for a print ad campaign.

It's frustrating, though, to turn on the radio and hear essentially the same song over and over again-depending upon the flavor of the month being shoved down our ears.

But, oh well.

I don't write music for popularity.

Even though sometimes I wish I did.

2:45 p.m. - 2001-06-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: