baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a sort of homecoming

"Every old sock needs an old shoe"

-Kate

This Saturday, I hope to celebrate the birthday of a good friend.

My connection with Steve trails back all the way to the puberty-stained cliches of the 80s. Big hair, parachute pants, and pointless pop songs litter our teen years like abandoned cars. And, for a while, I almost thought that abandoning him was synonymous with growing up and out into the wild blue yonder of maturity.

How wrong I was.

The importance of our history is clear to me now. And though my days are filled with faces borne out of recent memory, I am finding that nothing bridges two people like time.

Old friends.

I almost forgot how precious they are.

5:48 p.m. - 2002-02-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: