baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Somebody help me adjust my back's attitude

Well, I guess this was bound to happen someday.

For the last two days, I've been experiencing excruciating pain everytime I put any pressure on my left leg.

And since I've grown accustomed to putting pressure on my left leg for those special actions like, ohh I don't know, WALKING perhaps, this little betrayal on the part of my 30-something-year-old body is really beginning to make me a real asshole.

I mean, some would say, I was a real asshole prior to this little change in my nerve system. But, believe you me, the old asshole is nothing compared to the new asshole that surfaces everytime that familiar stab of delight shoots up my left thigh and up my back.

This hurts like no other physical ailment I've ever had.

It makes me feel useless, old and weak; useless because it's hard just walking to the restroom at work much less walking around L.A. chasing a story; old because I know that your body deteriorates over time (I just didn't think that the time would be now); and weak because there are so many other people that deal with much worse physical ailments than this and NOT turn into assholes.

I've read about these odd beaters: these heroes and heroines who overcome modern medicine's shortcomings. I truly admire these folks. They deserve all the accolades they get.

But, despite their example, I'm still angry. Not just because of the pain in my leg, but also because my lousy attitude clues me in on just how small and trivial I can be.

Hopefully, my doctor is right when he tells me that the problem is minor. He sez a few visits should clear everything up. It�s just that for now, I can't walk a single step pain-free; I can't chase my dog around the nearby University, and I can't dance with my GF like I did just last Saturday.

Yes, I'm pissed. And, unfortunately, I'm not quite sure how to get over it.

01:25:18 - 2000-10-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: