baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Juliet and Laura


Last Friday night was spent atop Girl Unit's favorite hilltop with a favorite burrito and Elvis Costello's version of "What's So Funny 'Bout Peace Love and Understanding?" Shel was working late and my plans to see TSOL were derailed by a warning from J who was spinning old school 80s punk rock in between bands."The scene isn't so good," he said. "Just a bunch of skinheaded teens moshing."
After getting suitably intoxicated with a few hits of chronic, I cruised to the local Chipotles, bought myself a burrito, parked atop the hill and stared.
The past few weeks have been disappointing. Ever fucked yourself in the head? That was me-all wrapped up in some vicious mind game that existed nowhere else but in between the ears. Someday, I hope to figure out how I manage to be my own worst enemy. Usually, I find that alone time, even forced alone time, manages to clear my head. So, there I was-atop a hill with a glorious view on a Friday night. Alone with a burrito and a favorite tune. I love that particular song even more now that I've seen "Lost In Translation." I know a lot of folks hated that movie. Too bad. It cut a deep impression on me.

But enough 'bout that.

I just finished "Rushmore" which I wasn't too crazy about when I started it this morning. But, I can somehow relate to Max-his need to be more than he is, his efforts at reaching beyond his life-I think we're all like that to an extent. Bill Murray seems particularly well suited for the role of lost middle-aged businessman. Best line (as well as I can remember it): "I never thought in a million years i would have kids like this." I wonder how many parents have felt the same sentiment? Isn't that a thought that most parents would never, ever admit to?
I also recently sludged through "The Mechanic." You know the movie don''t you? Charles Bronson? Jan Michael Vincent (the early Brad Pitt prototype)? It was huge in the 70s. The film everyone had to see. I forget how old i was when i saw it-but i remember loving the ending-but never quite understanding the movie as a whole.
So, I thought it may be a good one to revisit in my ripe old age of 37.
The movie sucked. Bad acting. God awful music. What was the big deal about Charles Bronson? He couldn't act and wasn't handsome in the least. Whatever the hell made him a star?
Must have been all the drugs and free sex in the 70s. Fucked up a whole generation's taste in movies.
My sister turned me into a movie snob at the old age of 10. Because of her, I saw movies at that age that none of my friends had ever heard of: Turtle Diary, Betty Blue, My Beautiful Laundrette...she also recited classic movies to me late into the night: Aprils Fool, It Happened One Night, Roman Holiday. When she went away to college, my attention turned to other things-girls, music-more normal pastimes for a teenager hoping to fit in. I still enjoyed movies, but rarely went to the theater. Now, with my train time being taken up with DVDs, I'm finding that the love of movies she planted in me years ago is still quite alive and well. It's like I've rediscovered a new hobby-and, thankfully, one that makes the long commute more bearable.

I do have "The English Patient" with me-which came highly recommended by a close friend of mine who calls it his favorite movie ever. But, I haven't started it. It's too epic. Too sad I think. Like steak and lobster when what I'm really craving is some Thai food. But, the train is having mechanical problems so possibly i'll start it.

---------------

Almost two hours later.

The English Patient is quite good. Wonderful cast. Great acting and beautiful cinematography. I love Kristen Scott Thomas' character-very complex and self -assured. I can already tell that it's headed for a sad ending. Must balance this out with a mindless thrill ride afterwards. Is there a Hellboy 2 anywhere?

8:39 p.m. - 2005-07-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: