baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yawn, stretch, inhale

I'm kind of empty.

I remember looking at the clock when I pulled into my driveway last night and seeing 4:13.

That's 4:13 a.m. by the way.

At times today, it seemed my body was shutting down. The mind-numbing census map I was working wasn't helping me at all, and I found myself depending on caffeine to get me through the afternoon.

But it's two days before my 33rd birthday. And though I'm physically aching for my bed, I'm mentally preparing for a celebration.

Sleep will have to wait.

We have another show in a few hours-and since it's Friday, there will surely be partying afterward.

And sometime during the afterward, in between gulps of alcohol and puffs of sweet-smelling smoke, I'll look at the clock and it'll be 4 a.m again-that magic hour where it's simultaneously too early and too late for shuteye. I'm hoping that Saturday�s sunrise finds me at the beach-asleep under a tall palm, with my girl strolling nearby looking for additions to her shell collection.

It's a wonderful time to be 33.

And though I know that someday I'll pay for this--I don't care.

I'm having too much fun.

986077103 - 2001-03-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: