baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A studly, guitar playing hoochie-daddy I am not

I'm dripping like Aqualung.

Do you know Aqualung?

It's a song-a silly song really-but a hit back in its day.

And aren't all hit songs kinda silly in their own silly way?

Anyhooz, what I'm trying to say is that snot is currently dripping down my nose-to kinda quote a line from this silly hit song by Jethro Tull.

I was attacked by the sneezes yesterday at work. I sneezed all day-all over the keyboard, the monitor, the bathroom, the hallways, my cubicle...

And, after much mental deliberation, I woke up this morning-fresh from a Nyquil-induced slumber-and called in sick.

I can almost see my editor rolling her eyes: "It's Friday and you're sick, huh? Suuuuuuuuuure..."

Well, I am dagnabit.

And I have a gig tonight.

Which is not at all good.

I mean, can someone please tell me how the hell I'm supposed to be a studly, guitar playing hoochie-daddy with snot running down my nose? (Actually, I'd appreciate it if anyone can simply tell me how to be a studly, guitar playing hoochie-daddy).

Snot just isn't very sexy wouldn't you agree?

Can you imagine Elvis doing his sexy little pelvic thrusts with snot dripping down his nose?

It so not works.

And what about harmony vocals? How am I supposed to sound like a wanna-be-Backstreet Boy while sneezing for God's sake?

This will not be the highlight of my so-called musical career let me tell you.

So, I'm off to hide underneath the little brown blanket with ducks and hearts weaved into the fabric. Danny Elfman's *Music For A Darkened Theater* will serenade me as I surrender to the power that is Nyquil and maybe, just maybe, my nose will stop running this marathon by showtime.

Goodnight.

9:28 a.m. - 2001-04-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: