baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Loss of Footing

I'm overwhelmed by this need to create.

And I wonder if this sudden, unexpected downpour of artistic drivel is simply a mask-a cover up-for emotions that bubble up against my wishes.

For the longest time, I used humor to help wash down these uncomfortable pauses in conversation, these awkward silences when what needs to be said gets stuck in the gaps between our teeth.

Now it seems impossible to be as sanguine of success and happiness as I have in previous lives.

I've lost some of the foothold I had against these common all-too-human trials-and I find myself making up for it with sappy melodies and major scales that pale miserably in the face of the big picture.

But, this is what I do.

And hopefully, someday, I'll listen back to these songs and and remember every little thing, every piece of advice, every hug and kiss, every bit of love she gave everyone around her.

After all, what else can you do when God decides to take someone back?

3:48 p.m. - 2001-12-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: