baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well to do and doing well

We stayed at the Piedmont Inn-a tightly wound enclave for the well-to-do residents of Ventura County. The grounds were populated with affluent looking folks and the staff came across as not unlike Julie-friendly and accommodating, but in a snooty better-than-thou way. During our two night stay, we saw very few minorities - most of them being service employees-waiters and maids. I couldn't help but feel as if I should be on my best behavior at all times-specifically during dinner. I overheard one employee call another man "Mr. Filipino." Clearly, a term-of endearment-but possibly indicative of the lack of Filipinos in the area. If this one gentleman was Mr. Filipino, then clearly there weren't many around.
One afternoon by the pool, a cute dark-haired girl about 7 (with adult in tow) approached me and asked, "Where are you from?"
"The Philippines," I said.
"Is that far?"
"Yes."
After an impromptu staring session which, now that I think about it, should have been filled with a quick geography location instead of silence, I asked, "And where are you from?"
"California," she said.
"Is that far?" I asked.
On her way out the door, Girl-Unit overheard her whisper to her mom, "I thought he was a Chinaman."

8:04 p.m. - 2005-06-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: