baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Let Me Stand Next To This Steenking Fire

Two years ago, I concluded that it was time to grow up.

Yes, it took 31 years to come to this conclusion, but let's not go there OK?

It was time, I decided, to leave certain things behind, come to terms with the direction of my life, dump the disappointments, and simply take the blessings I have and be thankful.

This epiphany wasn�t dramatic by any means. No bright light came out of the sky and surrounded me. No clarity of mind came after the realization-it was a quiet conclusion-silent in its approach and, very, very subtle.

It tapped me on the shoulder. I turned around, and nodded in silent agreement.

But, old dreams die hard-and I'm finding that there�s there�s still a bit of that old fire smoldering inside of me.

To my advantage, I feel as if my head is attached a bit straighter than before, and that life thus far has awarded me with at least a small amount of insight and maturity-not much I tell you-but some.

So, as far as this newly-found heat is concerned-I think it would be better described as a control-burn rather than a raging wildfire.

Things are different now. I'm different now-and, honestly, I'm not ready to throw my life, which is rather comfortable thank you very much, out the window for the sake of a little smolder.

So, onward to supposed greatness. Let�s see where this heat will take me.

4:59 p.m. - 2001-06-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: