baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Anatomy of a Decision

There is hard.

And there is easy.

Easy: ice cream, kissing, hugs, chocolate, music, reading, picking your nose in the car.

Hard: rock climbing, working on Saturdays, keeping mouth shut, paying over $2 for unleaded, looking at George Dubya.

Deciding where to take your Dad for a father's day lunch?

Sounds easy. That is-until Mom steps into the viewfinder.

My father's culinary tastes are simple. The man, like me, is Asian-so he's generally happy with food so long as it comes with that delectable, white, sustenance of perfection: rice.

Yes-give us rice and you're halfway there, baby.

But, mom, is a different story-the wrench in the spokes, the tear in the fabric, the hole in the wall, so to speak.

*Where did you want to go?* she asks.

*How about that Japanese place Dad likes...Something-Something Garden,* I suggest (all Asian restaurants have to have the word Garden in their name. It's the law.)

*Well, maybe we could try something different,* she says.

OK.

Fine.

I'm a supportive son. I do what I'm told. I wash behind my ears. I don't wonder why Mom is making this decision when it's FATHER'S DAY for God's sakes.

*How about Mimi's Cafe?* (Girl-Unit and I love Mimi's Cafe. It serves a wide variety of food and is decorated in a lovely foufou kind of dealy-surely fulfilling the *something different* requirement my Mom just threw out).

*American food? Ugh!,*Mom says.

*But, it's not just American...,* I start to say before I'm interrupted with that flat, unyielding tone of voice that I haven't heard since I asked for permission to spend the night at Jimmy's house back in 1983:

*No.*

The conversation continues.

Crabby Bob's?

*No.*

Claim Jumper?

*No.*

La Tapatia?

*No.*

OK. At this point, I had two choices: keep playing this little game with my ever-loving Mom or kill myself.

Luckily, Dad picked up the phone before I could plunge my newly sharpened number two into my chest.

*Hello? Hello? Are you using the phone?*-Dad yells into the handset-which obviously IS being used since he's hearing a conversation in progress instead of a dial tone.

Before Mom could answer I asked Dad where he wanted to go for Father's Day.

*What about that Japanese place we like...Something-Something Garden?* he said.

Mom was oddly silent.

*Great!* I said-exhaling my relief and saving the sharpness of my number two pencil for the illustration I should have been working on.

I ended the conversation as quickly as possible, said my bybyes ,and hung up-leaving Mom silent, and Dad jubilant at the thought of the Crab Rangoon looming in his future.

Seems that Dad and I can communicate after all.

2:54 p.m. - 2001-06-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: