baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wandering Around Fashion Island On A December Weeknight

I took a longer than usual lunch today. The sun was out, the weather was mild and I did what a lot of people do when they feel blah.

I ate.

And shopped.

It's amazing what some fish tacos and some bargains will do for one's spirits.

In the bargain category-we have The Artist Who Used To Be Too Damn Cool To Have A Name. Specifically, his 3-CD set, Emancipation. Remember when this came out? It was way too expensive-like $40 bucks or something.

I found it at Pic N Save for $10.

Now, I'm not one for public outbursts of joy, but when you find a deal like that, you would be DEAD not to do a little "hell yes" butt-shake right there on the spot.

Which I did.

And the Gods looked down and said "eww."

Well, it was either the Gods or all the women in Pic N Save with me.

Has anyone noticed that Pic N Save is a major fem magnet? What up with this? Minus the few guys on staff, I seemed to be the only dude in the store. Do guys not like bargains? Are guys ashamed to be in Pic N Save? Are guys too afraid to do a little "hell yes" butt-shake on a linoleum floor?

Who knows.

What I do know is I'm gonna be groovin' on the way home tonight. At $10 bucks-half the CD could suck and it would still be a bargain.

_________________________________________________________________________

Speaking of home, Girl-Unit is gone this evening-which basically means I'm free, free, free to do whatever the male animal in me wants to do tonight.

And that would be checking out the new, just opened, Apple store nearby.

Yeah, yeah-what did you expect from a geek? I mean what could possibly be more exciting or spiritually fulfilling than peripherals, firewire and really, really large flat monitors, huh?

_________________________________________________________________________

I just read a story on AP saying that church attendance has dropped back down to normal levels since Sept. 11. Guess that means we think we've prayed enough.

_________________________________________________________________________

Gift giving. Really. Think about it. What are you really giving this season? And who are you giving it to? Is there someone else out there, possibly a stranger, who may need a gift more than those on your Christmas list?

5:04 p.m. - 2001-12-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: