baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Eject

I fear I have murdered an 8-year-friendship.

But, the situation had become alarmingly clear in recent days, months and years, and I really couldn't ignore the obvious very much longer.

The person in question had somehow metamorphosed from bridge to burden, and, in my mind, his presence became a metaphor for stress and frustration-hardly the metaphor one prefers to sustain a friendship of any ilk.

It's amazing how we change-how the soul you once took some refuge in starts to rearrange itself in ways that block the path that once connected.

But, of course, I did some changing myself.

I can't blame everything on the other side.

But lately, my side has grown red and blistered from the constant poking of good intentions, and I've lost the need to harbor the benefits of anymore doubt.

My patience is now limited. My empathy strained.

And severing these connections has become easier than ever.

9:18 a.m. - 2002-06-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: