baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tall Waves and Gardens

Despite mild sunny weather, strong winds and tall waves forced the boat to turn around 20 minutes into the trip. I was surprised since most of the passengers seemed to enjoy the roller coaster like feel of the voyage-laughing when the boat rose up out of the water and screaming when it crashed down into the waves. But, apparently, it was too dangerous-and, despite protests from most of the customers, the captain headed back home leaving about 50 or so people (and a classroom of elementary school students) with a free afternoon.
Girl-Unit and I didn't need long to figure out an alternative. We pointed Uma north towards the Santa Barbara Botanical Gardens - a place we had originally wanted to visit but couldn't due to lack of time. On our way, we drove past the famous city of La Conchita. Although the scar left on the hill by the slide reminded me of the man who lost his family while going out for ice cream, the lure of the location was immediately apparent. It's a beautiful place-even in tragedy.
The Garden was in its peak. Blooming wildflowers painted the grounds with greens, golds and reds and we soon forgot about our aborted boat trip. I drifted away like I often do when in nature (astral projection I imagine) and Girl-Unit started shooting photos. This is our usual tradition. She takes photos and talks to strangers. I sit quietly and appear aloof. Like a cat. A hairless cat. I'd say Siamese but Siamese are very vocal. Possibly Siamese in appearance, but not in practice.
The gardens are located about 15 minutes from downtown Santa Barbara and, with 20 minutes to spare before the garden tour, Girl-Unit and I raced downhill to enjoy horseradish sandwiches. We didn't order horseradish sandwiches specifically (I expected a turkey and avocado), but the deli saw fit to add obscene amounts of the stuff between the sourdough. With the first bite, the horse stampeded through the roof of the mouth and cleared my nostrils of the allergy the ailed them. Despite this, I've never liked horseradish-and having what felt like several gallons worth in my mouth at one moment didn't sway my opinion.
Girl-Unit fared better than I. She didn't seem to mind the horse as much. She was more excited about the garden tour.
A beautiful mature lady with a slight, untraceable accent led the tour. She carried little weight physically, but her knowledge and love of the garden gave her an undeniable presence. Her love of the garden was obvious.
The tour group was small and included one wheelchair bound elderly woman. Her limited mobility cut the tour short and Girl-Unit and I would confess later of our frustration; the tour would have been better had the elderly lady not been there. We both felt guilty for our selfishness, but laughed nervously at our secret confession. Selfishness is funnier with company I suppose.

9:34 p.m. - 2005-05-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: