baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cricket Empathy

There's this cricket in the breakroom.

I can hear him cricketing everytime I walk by.

Creeky, creeky, creeky, creeky...

It's been in there for, oh, I don't know, 2 weeks now.

And lately I've noticed that the creeky sounds are getting shorter and quicker.

Last week-they were longer-more drawn out.

And, well, I wonder how long a cricket can survive inside a breakroom.

I suppose there is water somewhere in there. And that there are probably crumbs dropped from various lunches and whatnot.

But, a cricket can't very well be happy inside a carpeted, climate-controlled breakroom can it?

Aren't those cricket sounds a call to other crickets?

So, maybe, despite the easy supply of water and crumbs, and the general lack of any obvious predators, the trapped cricket is sitting in there yelling *Hey! I'm here! Any other crickets here! Hellooooo!*

I imagine that it's miserable. If anything, plenty bored.

I looked in there one day, but couldn't find Mr. or Ms. Cricket anywhere. It's odd to hear something and not see it, you know? I peeked behind the fridge, under the sink, behind the bottled water-no cricket. But, I could hear those creeky sounds bouncing all around the small room. I figured I never even got close since it kept right on cricketing during the whole search.

So, it's still in there. Heard and not seen.

Obviously, this is bothering me.

And I'm not sure why.

3:52 p.m. - 2001-04-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: