baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I Can Whine Clearly Now

I share the world with two people who like to preface their statements with the word "clearly," as if they were shedding light and logic on something that should have been plainly obvious in the first place.

"CLEARLY, what you should have done is blah blah blah," they would say sounding equal parts egotistical and annoying.

And although I'm fond of these two folks, lately their habits of speech have come to grate me like a block of cheese. I can almost sense the arrival of the word-as if some cue (possibly a curl of the lip or a pause of breath) trips the motion sensor of my brain and automatically lights up the frustrated and impatient parts of my spirit.

Or perhaps it's not them at all.

Maybe, it's me.

Because, if the simple utterance of a two-syllable word is enough to warrant a persnickety diary entry, then perhaps the source of the problem is not external, but rather internal.

Clearly, this warrants more investigation.

8:05 p.m. - 2002-06-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: