baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And she sang a melody

About two weeks ago, a friend introduced me to this tune. Although sweet, it didn't stir any sort of emotion in me (other than the standard foot tapping and neck swaying that I indulge in when a particularly catchy melody enters my ears).

But, now, I feel a bit more attached to this song and, in particular, the lyrics.

This is for you Christina, the girl who followed the sound of my guitar at the college campus botanical garden last weekend. I enjoyed your company. If I could have spoken honestly above my obvious discomfort, this is what I would have said:

I don't want to get too close

I don't want to get too close

You see this isn't where my head is

If you knew me I'm not like this

But I just found someone special

And that's really something special

If you knew me

Nice to meet you anyway

I believe you're very fine

Still I haven't got the time

'Cause I just found someone special

And that's really something special

If you knew me

Nice to meet you anyway

And the sky opened up

With the soil of the sun

Dreaming of my true love

I don't mean to be so strange

But my life just took a change

'Cause I just found someone special

And that's really something special

If you knew me

Nice to meet you anyway

And the sky opened up

With the soil of the sun

Dreaming of my true love

So before this goes too far

Let me tell you what you are

You're amazing, I'm attracted

But I'm terribly distracted

And I'm trying to be verbal

And I'm back into this circle

Because I just found someone special

And that's really something special

If you knew me

Nice to meet you

Nice to meet you

Nice to meet you anyway

Nice to meet you anyway

And even if you want me to stay here

I'm telling you right now

I should leave

Before I get to changing my mind, dear

I hope you understand what I mean

Gavin DeGraw

"Nice To Meet You Anyway"

10:16 p.m. - 2004-02-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: