baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the subject at hand

OK.

So here's the conundrum.

I promised a very old friend that I would see his show as soon as he performed near my work or my home.

And, now, after many years of missing his performances because they were always so damn far away (as in other continents), he finally performs nearby.

As in within 20 minutes.

But, it happens to be at a pro-life rally.

I happen to be pro-choice.

Obviously, a real friendship can take differences in opinion.

Even in matters as clouded with grays as abortion.

If anything, maybe I can learn to understand a different point of view. After all, you don't have to agree with something to understand it.

It's odd when you consider that most old friendships (as in ones that took hold shortly before puberty) are borne out of matters such as music, clothes and other non-threatening criteria.

Matters such as abortion were as far off the radar screen as retirement, 401ks and extra-marital affairs.

Obviously, my friend and I have a lot to catch up on.

8:06 p.m. - 2002-07-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: