baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bye Ally!

So Ally McBeal is going bye bye.

Geez.

I can't believe that I actually feel a tad bit sad about this.

Because, well, I loathe television.

I mean, whenever I spend more than an hour staring passively at the TV, my senses start to rebel.

"You're healthy, intelligent and creative," my senses say.

"Stop it," I say.

"There is music to be written, books to be read, HTML to be learned...," my senses continue.

"Shut the fuck up," I mumble to my inner critic.

"Get of your Asian Lard Ass...," my senses demand.

This inner argument will continue for a few minutes before I give in, shut off the TV, and go do something that causes less inner-revulsion.

But, for a while, I must admit, my senses were overcome.

I was transfixed.

Mesmerized, actually.

And, well, I just have to admit this like a man:

"Hello everyone. My name is Baggage, and I'm an Allyholic."

"clap, clap, clap. clap...."

There. Now I feel a little less dirty.

But, although I freed myself from this particular demon after the first season, I must admit that the show's impending cancellation almost brought a tear to my slanted eyes.

And, I'm not really sure why.

Why is it so easy for us to get wrapped up in these television dramas?

Why grow such an affinity for nonexistent characters and shun the real-life characters that surround us everyday?

Why give so much of our time to make-believe?

Is reality that damn boring? Are real people that damn unenjoyable?

Is there not enough drama in our real lives that we must live vicariously through singing lawyers, neurotic characters, dancing babies and waddle-fixations?

Geez.

Anyway, Ally will soon be going away-taking with it the one lame excuse I've had (since the "Twilight Zone Marathon") to watch TV.

Good riddance.

7:41 p.m. - 2002-04-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: