baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How NOT To Start A Relationship-or, "I'm Sorry, I Thought You Were Trying To Kill Me"

You know, judging from recent entries, I seem to have misplaced my sense of humor. But, thankfully, the real world has more than enough to tide me over until I can come up with something funny on my own.

Secret admirer, not terrorist, causes stir over mailed panties

FALLON, Nev. (AP) A 59-year-old man who received a suspicious letter with amorous writings and women's lace panties turned it over to sheriff's deputies, who stored it in a biohazard barrel before determining it didn't come from a terrorist.

""It was from a secret admirer,'' Churchill County Sheriff Bill Lawry said.

""We returned the letter and the underwear,'' he said.

The Fallon man said he became concerned about the threat of anthrax contamination because the unsigned letter was mailed from Reno in a yellow envelope with no return address.

Neatly printed on two pages, the sexually suggestive message and black thong panties arrived Thursday.

""It just about blew my socks off,'' said the man, speaking on the condition he not be named. He said he had lived in the rural community only since September and few people had his address.

""I don't know of anybody who would do this and I have no explanation for it. I feel kind of silly,'' he told the Lahontan Valley News and Fallon Eagle Standard.

The man said he had been worried about anthrax exposure because he sniffed the contents to determine if perfume was present on the letter or the underwear.

The woman who made the overture notified the sheriff on Monday when she learned that the letter had been turned over for investigation. She told authorities she was romantically interested in the single man.

2:11 p.m. - 2001-10-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: