baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bring On the Noise

Hey, i just called to see if you wanted some lasagna.

-S

(Nobody famous, just a good friend who called mere seconds ago to invite me over for dinner)

The cars seem loud tonight.

Usually, I don't even notice the sound of wet rubber on wet pavement. But the house is quiet and my ears, trying to fill in the gaping hole of silence left by today's non-stop conversation, have focused their attention to the sounds outside my open window.

Two close friends just left; fellow musicians who came by this afternoon to strum away the minutes of a wet Sunday. Just minutes ago, my ears were filled with their music, conversation and laughter. Now, it's so damn quiet, even the sound of my fingers typing on the keyboard seems abnormally loud.

I've always enjoyed an ongoing argument with silence.

I think it started when I was left at home alone for the first time. My parents were going to Fedco, and I asked if I could stay home alone to finish a particularly heart-wrenching episode of Voyage To The Bottom Of the Sea. I was old enough, I assured them. I wouldn't go outside, wouldn't answer the phone, wouldn't start any fires...I was ready.

The show ended 15-minutes after they left. I turned the TV off, looked around the living room and came face to face with the ominous presence of silence.

I remember not liking it at all.

I wondered what I would do if anyone broke in. I wondered what I would do if there was electrical short somewhere that started a fire. I wondered what I would do if there was an earthquake.

Even now, sitting in the comfort of my home, my cat asleep on top of The Loveseat to my left, I still remember how my imagination took full advantage of me that afternoon. I can still relate to that boyhood fear, and know that, if given a choice between company or being alone, I think I would almost, always choose company.

Which is why this weekend has been so nice. The combination of rain, good friends and nearby bags of Reeses Peanut Butter cups (supposedly purchased for Halloween) is enough to keep me happy.

Seems that people were dropping by unexpectedly to say hello every hour or so. I would be sitting in the front bedroom crouched over my Mac, downloading yet another Mp3, when a familiar face would be looking at me through my window asking to be let in.

I know people who would hate this. They don't want to be bothered with the unexpected drop-by. Their schedule makes them too busy for company, too tired for conversation and too unapologetic to care.

Personally, I hate it when my life is too busy for company. I thrive on the presence of my GF and friends-and feel lucky to know so many whose company I enjoy.

Even now that the house is silent and empty for the first time since 6 a.m., I look forward to the next hour or so when my GF will come home-filled with moments of her day-ready to tell me about some bitchy customer or some adorable kid she took portraits of.

It's been a noisy weekend. And I feel lucky.

23:31:22 - 2000-10-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: