baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Life's A Musical-and I'm playing a C major

The Omnipotent Muse that comes and goes from my life rented out my brain for the weekend.

And I'm grateful for the company.

My two days of self-imposed isolation in the studio proved fruitful-although very little of it was spent cradling Emily (that's my guitar by the way) in my arms.

Instead, it was 48 hours of straight rhythm. W and I basically threw on the reel and let the groove rule the proceedings.

W is an amazing drummer. His sense of timing astounds me. He took the simplistic beats I programmed into my aging Alesis drum machine and turned them into something wonderful-a collection of hits and hisses and pounds that could make even the most cynical of feet tap in joy.

I, however, struggled with the bass-my fingers are not quite in tune to the demands of the instrument. They ache for my guitar-with its slinky, slender steel strings that bend with ease. But, after a few hours, even the bass starts to bend under my weight. It's a gratifying experiment of will-when your fingers-at first protesting under the demands of an instrument that they're unaccustomed to-relent and start obeying--hitting the right notes and playing the right phrases.

There's something wonderful about hearing a song come together under the studio light. You hear it in its nakedness-no harmonies, no guitar-just bass and drums. It's like a painting with no shadows or highlights or midtones-just a wash of color-filled with the miracle of potential.

I feel lucky to have been blessed with this musical insight. And I feel lucky to have folks like W who can see my infantile musical sketches and turn them into rhythmic landscapes-a musical canvas that I can color and fill at my discretion.

Thank you oh wonderful muse. I hope you come back soon. There are so many songs to write.

7:11 p.m. - 2001-04-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: