baggage's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Slow Drive

The band played at a ski resort a few weeks ago. It was amazing playing in this warm room and looking out a window and seeing a full-on snowstorm.

And the snow was beautiful! Flaky and light-floating down like stars that you could reach out and grab. People would walk in covered with snow-and for a second, the outside chill would embrace me and heighten my senses until the door would close behind them.

Several people rode home with me in my truck, and we drowned our ears with U2, Supertramp, and Tom Waites as we cruised through Lake Arrowhead. Near the bottom of the hill, December by the Nixons came on:

"I'll be home when the snow is falling,

when the fire turns to ember. I'll see you in December..."

The song played as the snow fell horizontally against the windshield. It looked and felt absolutely wonderful-one of those magical moments with your friends that you want to last forever.

But, obviously, nothing last forever so I did the only thing I could do: I drove extra slow.

06:24 p.m. - 2001-03-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

sign

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: